Skip to content
WeType

AI autocomplete apps for Mac, compared

A handful of apps now put AI autocomplete into every text field on a Mac, and they are more alike than their websites suggest. This is how they differ on the things that decide a purchase, with every competitor fact linked to its source.

By Published 9 min read

Short answer

Most Mac AI autocomplete apps work the same way: a language model runs on your Mac and shows the rest of your sentence as grey text that Tab accepts. They differ on price model, hardware support and trial terms. As of September 2026, WeType has the lowest one-time price at $20, Cotypist has a permanent free tier of 100 words a day, Typeahead is the one that also runs on Intel Macs, and Cotabby is free and open source but needs macOS 26.

Who wrote this

This page is written by the developer of WeType, one of the apps below. That is a reason to read it carefully, so here is how it is kept fair: every fact about another app links to that app’s own website and was checked on 26 September 2026; where a vendor does not state something, the table says so instead of guessing; and WeType’s own weaknesses are listed alongside its strengths. Prices change, so follow the links before you buy.

What actually differs

On the surface these apps are strikingly similar. All of them put an AI prediction of the rest of your sentence at the cursor in grey, accept it with Tab, work across Mac apps through the accessibility layer, and say the model runs on your Mac. So the differences that decide a purchase are elsewhere:

  • How you pay: once, monthly, yearly, or not at all.
  • What is free: a permanent free tier, a time-limited trial, or only a refund window.
  • Which Macs: most need Apple Silicon; one also supports Intel; one needs the newest macOS.
  • Model choice: a single built-in model, or a choice of models you can match to your Mac and your work.
  • How it feels: suggestion speed, placement and fit. This is the most important difference and no table captures it, which is why trials exist.

The comparison table

Mac AI autocomplete options, checked 26 September 2026
AppPriceFree optionHardwaremacOS
WeType$20 once, or $6/month5-day trial, 100 words/day; 30-day refundApple Silicon14 or later
CotypistPlus $72/year, Pro $108/year (billed annually)Free tier, 100 completed words/day; 30-day Pro trialApple Silicon14 or later
Typeahead$79 once (launch price)30-day money-back guaranteeApple Silicon or Intel, 8 GB RAM14 or later
TypeSeer£2.99/month, £23.99/year or £59.99 once14-day trialApple Silicon14 or later
MacAutocomplete$125 once (discounted at launch)14-day money-back guaranteeApple Silicon14.2 or later
CotabbyFree, open source (AGPL-3.0)FreeNot stated26 or later
macOS inline predictionsFree, built inFreeBuilt into macOS14 or later

All of the third-party apps state that their models run on the Mac. Prices are as listed on each vendor's site and may exclude tax; launch prices and discounts change often.

Each app, briefly

WeType

Good at: the lowest one-time price in this list, and the widest choice of models: 9 of them, from a 379 MB model for an 8 GB Mac to a 4.5 GB code model, including code-tuned ones. Larger models read the conversation around the field. Tab takes one word at a time, and behaviour can be set per app. The app itself is 7.9 MB.

Weaker at: the trial is short, 5 days with a daily word cap, and there is no permanent free tier. It is Apple Silicon only. You choose and download a model on first run, which is an extra step. It is built by one independent developer.

Cotypist

One of the best-known apps in the category, with a permanent free tier of 100 completed words a day and a 30-day trial of its Pro plan. Paid plans are billed annually, and the higher tier covers more than one Mac. There is no one-time purchase.

Typeahead

A one-time purchase, and the only app here that states support for Intel Macs as well as Apple Silicon. Its site lists an 8 GB memory minimum and a model of about 3 GB.

TypeSeer

Offers the widest spread of payment options, monthly, yearly and lifetime, priced in pounds, with a 14-day trial and each licence covering two Macs. Its site highlights text snippets and grammar checking alongside autocomplete.

MacAutocomplete

A one-time purchase covering up to three Macs, built on Apple’s MLX framework, with an emphasis on making zero outbound network connections. The most expensive option in this list.

Cotabby

Free and open source, and able to use Apple Intelligence as its engine on compatible Macs or local GGUF models otherwise. It requires macOS 26, so it will not run on older systems.

macOS inline predictions

Already on your Mac, free, and good for a word or short phrase. Space accepts. You cannot choose the model, give it the surrounding conversation, or set it per app. If it is enough for you, it is the best value here. WeType vs Apple, in detail.

How to choose

  • You want to pay once, as little as possible: WeType.
  • You want something free indefinitely: Apple’s built-in predictions, Cotypist’s free tier, or Cotabby on macOS 26.
  • You have an Intel Mac: Typeahead is the only one here that states Intel support.
  • You write code as well as prose: an app that lets you pick a code model, such as WeType.
  • You are not sure: install two trials and use each for a day of real work. Suggestion quality and speed on your own writing, on your own Mac, is the thing that matters most, and it is the one thing no comparison page can tell you.

Questions

What is the best AI autocomplete app for Mac?
It depends on what you value. For the lowest one-time price, WeType. For a permanent free tier, Cotypist. For an Intel Mac, Typeahead. For free and open source on macOS 26, Cotabby. All of them run the model on your Mac, so trying two or three free trials side by side is the fastest way to decide.
Is there a free AI autocomplete for Mac?
Yes. macOS has free built-in inline predictions for short phrases, Cotypist has a free tier of 100 completed words a day, and Cotabby is free and open source for macOS 26. Paid apps, including WeType, offer free trials.
Do Mac AI autocomplete apps send what I type to the cloud?
The apps compared here all state that their models run on the Mac, so the text you type is processed locally. Each still makes some network requests, for model downloads, updates or licence checks, and each documents those differently.

Keep reading

Try AI autocomplete in every app on your Mac.

5 days free · 100 words a day · no card, no account

Try WeType free